Milwaukee, December 5, 2018: Mass Phone/Emails Against Columbia Prison Slavery

Hosted by Milwaukee IWW

7 A.M. – 8 P.M.

Milwaukee IWOC is organizing a series of phone and email zaps against the Security Director of Columbia Correctional, in response to abusive conditions at this prison. A phone zap is a mass phone call, where multiple people call a specific target on the same day to express concern about something, a low-key form of pressure. An email zap is a mass email, where multiple people email a target on the same day to express concern about something. Please take the time to call, email or both on Wednesday, every bit helps add to the pressure.

For the phone zap against Lucas Weber, Columbia’s security director, call (608) 742-9100 extension 9145

Sample script:
“I am calling out of concern with abuses at Columbia Correctional Institution. I am horrified by the conditions that recently lead a prisoner at Columbia to commit suicide. I am also horrified by the October 26th brutality by correctional officers Goldsmith, Thompson and Woodruff in which they physically assaulted a prisoner, choked him, and dragged him from the cell. When will you make a change prison policy to stop these acts?”

For the email zap against Lucas Weber, and other top officials in the Wisconsin Department of Corrections:

Send to:
Lucas.Weber@wisconsin.gov, Susan.Novak@wisconsin.gov, Cathy.Jess@wisconsin.gov, Kalen.Ruck@wisconsin.gov, Tristan.Cook@wisconsin.gov, steven.wierenga@wisconsin.gov, StevenR.Johnson@wisconsin.gov, ScottA.MacLauchlin@wisconsin.gov, Sara.Fry@wisconsin.gov, iwoc.milwaukee@gmail.com, Randall.Hepp@wisconsin.gov, Marlena.larson@wisconsin.gov, Lisa.Reible@wisconsin.gov, Lisa.Avila@wisconsin.gov, Joy.Merbach@wisconsin.gov

Sample subject line: Lucas Weber: Human rights crisis at Columbia

Sample script:

———————————

I am contacting you out of concern with abuses at Columbia Correctional Institution. I am horrified by the conditions that recently lead a prisoner at Columbia to commit suicide. Cries for help are being ignored. When correctional officers see an inmate with open wounds from cutting themselves, you need to give them mental health resources rather than put them in solitary confinement.

As well, I am horrified by the October 26th brutality by correctional officers Goldsmith, Thompson and Woodruff in which they physically assaulted a prisoner, choked him, and dragged him from the cell.

People have contacted you about this before, and been ignored. This cannot continue. When will Columbia make changes in prison policy?

———————-

If you need more information on the background of Columbia Regulations campaign, read information we’ve gotten from prisoners here: goo.gl/kQ1nXH Read analysis of a previous public pressure tactic here: goo.gl/PJHa93

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s