Madison-Based Freedom Inc. Appeal: Call School Board Members and Demand: Real Supports for Students Not Cops In Schools!

Freedom Inc

Despite recently renewing the contract with the Madison Police Department, the Madison Metropolitan School District (Madison Schools – MMSD) is participating in the National Week of Action for Black Lives Matter at School whose fourth demand is to “Fund Counselors Not Cops.” This hypocrisy is a slap in the face to Black students who are disproportionately impacted by police violence in their schools and in their communities.

Freedom Inc. has urged MMSD to invest in non-police crisis intervention specialists, school psychologists, counselors and creating well rounded, culturally relevant programs and services for youth of color for the past two years. Our youth deserve better and their lives matter.

Please contact your local School Board members to demand that they invest in youth and divest from the police.

School Board contact info:
Mary Burke – email: mburke2@madison.k12.wi.us
Nicki Vander Meulen – email: nkvander@yahoo.com
Kate Toews – email: ketoews@madison.k12.wi.us phone:608-800-2193
James Howard – email: jlhoward@madison.k12.wi.us phone:608-231-9376
Dean Loumos – email: dgloumos@madison.k12.wi.us phone:608-332-2095
TJ Mertz – email: tjmertz@madison.k12.wi.us phone:608-215-1942
Gloria Reyes – email: greyes@madison.k12.wi.us phone:608-228-5303

Image may contain: text

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s