(ONLINE) July 30, 2020: #DefundPolice and #AbolishICE in Southeast Asian Communities: Reimagining Safety For Us By Us

Image may contain: text

#DefundPolice and #AbolishICE in Southeast Asian Communities: Reimagining Safety For Us By Us

Dear community,

Thank you all for the significant turnout on all of our conversations in the past month in the Hmong Community, Viet Community, and the Khmer Community. We are deeply grateful to be able to engage with you all on what it looks like to love each other the same way we must also love Black people. Now that we have this understanding, we must go even deeper.

Join us on Thursday, 7/30 at 3 pm PST, 5 pm CST, 6 pm EST to discuss dismantling state violence, the police, and ICE through the lens of Southeast Asian communities who have endured systems of oppressions due to American imperialism. You will hear from SEAFN organizers and community leaders across the country about their work on the intersection of fighting for community control and defunding the police, and what safety looks like and how to redefine the meaning and apparatus of safety for our communities. We invite you to act now by taking part in this conversation.

Accessibility needs for language and ASL interpretation are in progress. This event will be live-streamed through SEAFN’s Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s